Being Hmong

There have been many struggles in school, and I plan to overcome them all. I want my younger siblings to see that despite all the difficulties, I did not give up on my education. The biggest struggle I had to overcome was my parent’s divorce. It was hard to cope with my parent’s divorce because I did not want to lose either one of my parents. The divorce affected me because I have to be an even better and obedient son and grandson to my mom and grandparents. After my mom got divorced, I have to learn everything myself and rely on my mom and grandparents. My grandparents technically rise me when I was young since my mom had to work everyday. I see my grandparents as if they are my real parents.

My grandparents would always tell me to do well in school, so I can go to college, get a degree, find a job, and make a lot of money. I have to be strong and show the world that even without a dad, I can still be successful and stay out of trouble. I still try to do my best to show my grandparents that I am cable of succeeding. I want to my grandparents to be proud and not make them feel disappointed because I know that if I do not succeed, they would blame themselves for not pushing me hard enough to become a young, successful Hmong boy/men.

Seeing my parents struggle with only having a high school diploma makes me unhappy, so I plan to achieve higher goals and become more successful. I do not want to be like them where they did not pursue a college degree. They did not have the same opportunities that I have now. I have to show my parents that I will take advantage of opportunities and make the most out of it. I want to graduate from a university where I can get a degree and expand my knowledge of the world.

Being a role model in the Hmong culture is not easy, but it does not make me want to change who I am. I am proud of myself because every struggle has made me want to succeed even more. Most importantly, every challenge I plan to overcome will provide my family honor in having me as an obedience and successful son, older sibling, and grandson.

2 thoughts on “Being Hmong

  1. I’m glad to hear that your motivations are so solid. I’m sure it can feel like a lot of pressure sometimes, but you are totally capable. You and Maizong both wrote some about Hmong culture this week and used similar pictures– I’m not sure what they are but they’re really pretty. It would be cool to hear more about that throughout the semester if you feel like sharing.

    Like

  2. That’s a story quilt, that’s what they’re call right? I remember hearing about them from a Hmong student I had in one of my classes a year or so ago. They tell a story about how the Hmong family moved and survived, yeah? Very cool storytelling device. You’ve taken on a great responsibility to serve your family in this way, good for you and I hope this class helps you on your path.

    Like

Leave a Reply

